Highlights from 2019 Central Ohio Social Justice Awards

2019 Central Ohio Social Justice Award Recipients

Community Service:

Individual –  Michele Heritage, CEO of Community Shelter Board
Organization –  B.R.E.A.D Organization

Legal Advocacy:

Individual –  Kathi Shear, Attorney at Legal Aid Society of Columbus

Education Advocacy:

Individual Public School –  Amara Leggett, A Young Legend
Organization Public School –  Gahanna Lincoln High School Diaspora Program

Public Service:

Individual –  State Representative Bernadine Kent, 25th District of the Ohio House of Representatives
Organization –  Ohio CDC Association

Organization Higher Education:

Urban GEMS at The Ohio State University

Individual Higher Education:

Dr. Robert Gatti, Vice President, Dean of Student Affairs at Otterbein University

Restorative Justice:

Individual –  Brian Woods, CEO of Metropolitan Community Services – T.O.U.C.H.
Organization –  CleanTurn Enterprises

Law Enforcement:

Individual –  Deputy Tresalyn Butler, Franklin County Sheriff’s Office
Organization –  Bigs in Blue, Mentoring program for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Ohio

Special Tribute Award:

Amber Evans, Community Leader
Michael Bivens, City Attorney for the City of Whitehall
The National Social Justice Park

2019 Central Ohio Social Justice Awards Leadership

Honorary Chairperson

Dr. Angela Bryant

Professor at The Ohio State University.

2019 Advisory Board

Bonnie Griffin

C. Sunny Martin

Paul Rockwell

The First Social Justice Awards Are A Great Success!!

We’re incredibly proud to be featured in April 2019’s issue of the Columbus African American News Journal; the largest minority-owned news publication in Central Ohio. 
Go to page 22 to view the article.